The 6 Moons of Saturn

In this image 6 moons of Saturn are visible, neatly arranged on a line. So far 62 Moons of Saturn have been discovered, the smallest only a fraction of a kilometer across.

Saturn reaches opposition in planet Earth’s sky, offering the best telescopic views of the ringed planet and moons.

Larger than Earth’s Moon and even slightly larger than Mercury, Titan has a diameter of 5,150 kilometers. Next to him Iapetus, and continuing to the left are Rhea, Tethys, [Saturn], Enceladus and Dione.

Titan, Saturn’s first known natural satellite was discovered in 1655 by Dutch astronomer Christiaan Huygens.

Moons of Saturn

This is an artist’s concept of Saturn’s rings and major icy moons.

Saturn’s rings make up an enormous, complex structure. From edge-to-edge, the ring system would not even fit in the distance between Earth and the Moon. The seven main rings are labeled in the order in which they were discovered. From the planet outward, they are D, C, B, A, F, G and E.   Image source:

Moons of Saturn

Moons of Saturn

via apod