superyacht (9)

Vertigo 220ft (67m) yacht was launched in Februrary 2011. Designed by Philippe Briand and built by Alloy Yachts in New Zeland, the project commenced in 2004 and is the largest yacht ever designed and built by both architect and shipyard.

superyacht (1)

superyacht (2)

superyacht (3)

superyacht (4)

superyacht (5)

superyacht (6)

superyacht (7)

superyacht (8)


She has modern hull lines and is the first yacht of this size to have an almost vertical bow, allowing for greater water displacement and a considerable increase in speed. She is both fast and sensitive to sail.

A Ketch rig was the only suitable option.  Mainsail and mizzen sail include roaches which have never before been seen or used on yachts of this size.  More surface area of the sails is exposed up where the wind velocity is greater than it is at the proximity of the water.

The accommodation was designed by renowned interior designer Christian Liaigre who has created an extremley comfortable, light and spacious atmosphere. On the main deck is the saloon and cockpit, housed by transparent sides to allow maximum natural light. The lower deck houses four cabins and the vast owner’s suite which leads directly to the lazarette and swim platform.

superyacht (10)

superyacht (11)

Technical specifications

LOA (m) :                                  67.20
LWL (m) :                                  61.70
Beam (m) :                               12.54
Draft (m) :                                 5.10   /  9.15
Displacement-lightship (t) :      737.8
Sail area upwind (m²) :            2290
Engine power (Hp) :                2 x 1400
Fuel  (l) :                                  64000
Fresh Water (l) :                     13900
Construction material :           Alu.Alloy

Naval Architecture :                  Philippe Briand
Exterior design :                        Philippe Briand
Interior design :                         Christian Liaigre
Builder :                                     Alloy Yachts
Delivered :                                 2011