InSight Lander will study the deep interior of Mars

InSight Lander will study the deep interior of Mars

October 29, 2018

InSight Lander will study the deep interior of Mars

NASA’s upcoming landing of the first-ever mission to study the heart of Mars will be the topic of a media briefing.

The briefing will air live at 1:30 p.m. EDT (10:30 a.m. PDT) Wednesday, Oct. 31, on NASA Television, the agency’s website and the NASA InSight Facebook page.



NASA’s InSight Mars Lander (Interior Exploration using Seismic Investigations, Geodesy and Heat Transport) will land on the Red Planet at approximately 3 p.m. EST (noon PST) Monday, Nov. 26. InSight will study the deep interior of Mars to learn how all rocky planets, including Earth and its Moon, formed. The lander’s instruments include a seismometer to detect marsquakes and a probe to monitor the flow of heat in the planet’s subsurface.

Above an artist illustration of the InSight lander on Mars.  Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

 

By | 2018-10-29T10:40:15+00:00 Oct 29, 2018|Categories: Space|Tags: |

Leave A Comment



CLOSE
CLOSE