NASA's Flying Saucer

The test vehicle for NASA’s Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD), designed to test landing technologies for future Mars missions, is ready for launch attempt tomorrow.

The artist’s concept image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech



Mission managers postponed tomorrow’s scheduled launch of a high-altitude balloon carrying NASA’s Low Density Supersonic Decelerator (LDSD) test vehicle because of unfavorable ocean conditions. The next launch attempt is Wednesday, June 3, no earlier than 1:30 p.m. EDT (10:30 a.m. PDT/7:30 a.m. HST).

NASA commentary will be carried on NASA TV and on the Web at http://www.nasa.gov/nasatv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2. The test launch window for LDSD is from June 2 to June 12, and extends each day from approximately 1:30 p.m. to 3 p.m. EDT (10:30 to noon PDT / 7:30 to 9 a.m. HST). For updates on launch status, follow @NASA_Technology and @NASA on Twitter or visit: http://www.nasa.gov/ldsd

Mark Adler, project manager for LDSD at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, said:

“You get to see all the same video I do, at the same time I do. This year’s test is centered on how our newly-designed supersonic parachute will perform. We think we have a great design ready for the challenge, but the proof is in the pudding and the pudding will be made live for everyone to see.”

source JPL