Space Station Transits the Sun

Happy New Year! The International Space Station, with a crew of seven onboard, in silhouette as it transits the Sun at roughly five miles per second.

This composite image made from seven frames captured on Friday, June 25, 2021, from near Nellysford, Va.

Onboard are Expedition 65 NASA astronauts Megan McArthur, Mark Vande Hei, Shane Kimbrough, ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Thomas Pesquet, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA) astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and Roscosmos cosmonauts Pyotr Dubrov and Oleg Novitskiy.

At the time of the transit, Kimbrough and Pesquet were working outside on the station’s port 6 truss to install the second Roll-Out Solar Array (iROSA) on the 4B power channel.

Image Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky

Editor: Michael Bock